La Grange, Texas Rural Mail Route

The US Postal Service makes tough cuts with its revenue in the red.

Postal service in Texas first began in Fayette County, specifically in the city of La Grange. The La Grange Rural Mail Route station opened August 1, 1899.

As the US Postal Service begins cutting hours and positions due to its revenue shortfall, post offices near La Grange, Texas in the surrounding cities of Fayetteville and Giddings will be first to feel the pinch.

The postmaster in Giddings, Ralph Zoch will retire and Fayetteville postmaster Dale Tiemann of Bastrop will be assigned as Officer in Charge in Giddings pending formal approval of a new postmaster in Lee County.

But the more rural Fayetteville post office (in addition to the city of Fayetteville, also serves the rural communities of Fayette County between Round Top, Warrenton, and La Grange) will no longer have a Postmaster. Fayetteville will only have an Officer in Charge.

Rural customers can access full service post offices for the time being in Round Top and La Grange, where they are still open 6 days per week. The Round Top office is only open from 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. on Saturdays.